Location:Home >Zen Garden
Zen Garden

The main rockeries have a long history and are full of Zen spirit, which are the only remains of the China early cave-cleuch-style rockery groups.

1.With a Long History

One version said that the Lion Grove Garden was built in 1342 during the Yuan Dynasty by Zen Buddhist monks, in memory of their teacher Weize. The garden is covered by bamboos, under which are rocks. These rocks look like lions. That’s how the name of the garden came. The name also refers to the Lion Peak of Mount Tianmu where the original teacher Abbot Zhongfeng learned and expounded the texts of Boddhism.

It is also said by a famous painter of Yuan Dynasty, Runde Zhu. In the preface of his book, Pictures of the Lion Grove Garden, he said that he met Weize in the Lion Grove Garden after back to Suzhou from Beijing in about 1324 to 1328. It said that the Lion Peak stood tall among the prosperous trees and tall rocks.

The two versions about when the Lion Grove Garden was built have some differences, but no contradictions. Rome is not built up within one day. In the same way, the Lion Grove Garden with so many rockeries can not be built up within one day either. Before that it was some rich people’s land according to the documents. When the Hui

Emperor of Song Dynasty was building rockeries in Capital Bianliang, he sent officers to pick taihu rocks for him. The North Song Dynasty fell when the rocks were still in deliver. Rocks that hadn’t been delivered were left in a ruined garden.

The Lion Grove Garden was defined as a monastery in 1342. Before that the rockeries were already built.

2.Full of Zen Spirit

The Lion Grove Garden is different from the normal landscape garden that literati and poets admire. The rockery groups are full of Zen spirit and express the founder’s religious ideas. Derun Zhu, a famous painter of Yuan Dynasty, noted a conversation between himself and Weize, from which we can see the idea of the garden founder. The Lion Peak stood tall among the prosperous trees and tall rocks. As said by Bodhidharma that the dragon is the strongest in the water and the elephant is strongest on the land. So in the forest, the lion should be the strongest. Zhu asked, the lion can frighten the beasts with its braveness and fierceness, right? Weize said no. The rock looks like brave and fierce lions. But it’s not to frighten the others. Referring braveness and fierceness, it’s Bodhisattva Manjursri’s nature. Zhu asked again that some people expound the texts of Boddhism, is it to keep the obstructions away? Weize said no again. The sound of expounding the texts of Boddhism will disappear in the end. How about say nothing but understand everything in your heart? Zhu began to understand Weize. In this complex world, without frightening look or expounding the texts of Boddhism, you can’t get others to understand or believe you. However, you name the garden by the lion is to express that you understand the world but without saying anything. The real friend can understand even if you say no words. To be real can keep the bad away; to be calm can keep the desire away. If you can keep real and calm, any frightening look or sound can’t make you afraid. That’s what I want you learn from the lions. Look around the lion-shape rocks. If you are thinking about the lions, then what you see are lions; if you are thinking about the rocks, then what you see are just rocks. It’s all up to you. Weize nodded and said yes. With the lion-shape rockeries, Weize express the idea that Zen spirit can keep you real and keep calm in this complex world. No sounds and no shapes. Lions keep silent but understand everything. People can get lessons from the lions. That’s why Weize built the Lion Grove Garden.

您当前位置:首页>禅意园林
禅意园林

主假山历史悠久且蕴含禅意,是中国早期洞壑式假山群的唯一遗存。

1.历史悠久

始建年代一说:狮子林始建于元代至正二年,公元1342年“天如禅师维则之门人为其师创造”,“林有竹万个,竹下多怪石,有状如狻猊,故名师子林,且师得法于普应国师中峰本公,中峰倡道天目山之师子岩,又以识其授受之源也”。

另一说:据元代著名画家朱德润所作“狮子林图序”记载,元代泰定(公元1324-1328)中,朱德润(1294-1365)自京城回苏州,在狮子林与维则会吾。“因观其林木蔽翳,苍石巉立,所谓师子峯者突然于其中”……。

狮子林始建年代两种说法有出入,但并不矛盾,师子林如此众多的假山,不可能一蹴而就。史料记载“其地本前代贵家别业”。又传北宋徽宗在京城汴梁造大假山,派官员来江南选取太湖石,史称“花石纲”,湖石尚未运完,北宋灭亡。部分未北运的湖石,被搁置在一荒园里。

公元1342年,至正二年狮子林正式作为“寺院”应该是历史的定论,而园中假山堆叠的时间更早于“寺院开院”。

2.蕴含禅意

狮子林不同于一般的文人山水园,其假山群深含禅意,体现了狮子林创始人的宗教思想。元代著名画家朱德润《师子林图序》记载朱德润与维则的一段对话,表达了维则建园的思想。“因观其林木蔽翳,苍石巉立,所谓师子峰者,突然乎其中,乃谂诸师曰:昔达摩传言,‘法中龙象’《智度论》解曰,水中龙力大,陆行象力大。兹林曰师子,岂非以其威猛,可以摄伏群邪者乎?”师曰:“非也。石形偶似,非假摄伏而为。若以威相,则文殊固有精进勇猛之喻矣。”仆又曰:“昔人言作师子吼,得非以其声容可以破诸障乎?”师曰:“非也。以声容则无此声容也。其有不言而喻者乎?”仆曰:“不言而喻,余知之矣。不言而喻,其惟师乎?噫,世道纷嚣,不以形色,则不能摄诸敬信,而吾师以师子名其林者,姑以遇世纷而自得于不言者乎?矧师之真实,可以破诸妄,平淡可以消诸欲。若以静默不二,则虽有形有声,犹不能悸,况乎无声无形,而托诸狻猊,以警群动者乎?虽然,观于林者,虽师石异质,一念在师,石皆师也;一念在石,师亦石也。然不若师者师石两忘者乎?”师曰唯唯。维则借形似狮子的假山石峰,表达了面对“世道纷嚣”其禅意可以“破诸妄,平淡可以消诸欲”;以“无声无形”托诸“狻猊”以警世人。这就是维则建狮子林的真实意图。